PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION REGULAR FEBRUARY 13, 2024 HYBRID MEETING

Present: Regular members Anna Timell, Keith Bodwell, Christine Gray, James LaPorta and Phill West, Alternates Bruce Bennett, and Michelle Shipp and LUA/ZEO Karen Griswold Nelson

Absent: Will Evans.

Others present Commission Planning Consultant Janell Mullen and members from the Affordable Housing Commission (listed under Planning Workshop)

1. Call to order/Establish quorum.

Chairman Anna Timell called the meeting to order at 7:10 PM with a quorum established. All members participated in the evening's proceedings.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES; January 9th regular meeting

Motion made by Mr. LaPorta, seconded by Mr. Bennett, to approve the minutes of the January 9th regular meeting with amendments: : unanimously approved.

- 3. **NEW APPLICATIONS: None**
- 4. PENDING APPLICATIONS. None
- 5. CORRESPONDENCE AND COMMUNICATIONS.

Communications from the Economic Development Commission not made part the record at the January 23 planning meeting to be discussed with EDC chairman Simon Hewitt.

Economic Development Commission chairman Simon Hewitt shared a power point presentation with the Commission. (Power point made part of the record)

6. PLANNING WORKSHOP MEETING - Workshop for commission member regarding "Housing."

The "Table of Goals and Strategies" about housing from the 2020 Town Plan and the results of the questions about housing that were on the Town Survey done during the Town Plan development process made part of the record for discussion (Attached to the minutes)

Written communications from Planning Consultant Janell Mullen, entitled "Zoning regulation Review -2FD and Multi-family Dwellings" and Planned Development Districts" were made part of the record for the discussion. (Attached to the minutes)

There was general discussion of the documents as referenced, and as relating to duplexes and triplexes and their inclusion in appropriate zones

Plan partners including representatives from the Cornwall Housing Corporation (Ginni Block, and Maggie Cooley), and the newly former Affordable Housing Commission (chairman Jill Cutler, Ginni Block, Jessica Brackman, Ingred Ellen, Caitlin Lynch, and Oscar Anderson) were part of the ongoing discussion of "Housing" initiatives.

LUA Griswold Nelson addressed the bi-annual requirement to elect a 2 year slate of offficers with the agenda as amended to include the same by unanimous consensus.

Election of Officers

Motion made by Mr. West, seconded by Mr. Bodwell to nominate Anna Timell as Chairman, (with agreement by Anna to continue), **motion** made by Michelle Shipp, seconded by Mr. West to nominate James LaPorta as vice-chair (with agreement from James to continue) and **motion** made by Mr. Bodwell, seconded by Mr. LaPorta to nominate Phill West as secretary (with agreement from Phill to continue) and **motion(s)** by all members approved by unanimous vote.

7. ADJOURNMENT.

Motion made by Mr. Bodwell, seconded by Mr. LaPorta, to adjourn at 8:46PM: unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Griswold Nelson for Commission secretary Phill West.

.